you're reading...
Entrepreneurship / Business, General

Keep it FRESH

Last couple weeks were really crazy, my life was turned up side down. I left my country, job, friends and family… and stoped being financially independent, which is not an easy thing to get used to once you got to another stage. Even more I have lots of money to pay off after I graduate. I believe this situation is familiar to many people. It is one of the key motivators to do really well during your studies… but… Have you ever felt “over-motivated”? You feel all the pressure (YOU put on yourself) and things stop being fun. Just hard work. Don’t get me wrong, it is completely fine to work hard. But there is a difference between  “responsible hard work” and “fresh hard work”. Have you ever noticed, if you are late and try walk quickly, you still walk slower than you do while listening your favourite upbeat song, enjoying yourself?

I believe if you manage to “keep it fresh” you will achieve much more and much more easily than if you just “keep your nose to the grindstone” (hopefully it is the right phrase). I noticed that if I just want to get things done, I don’t enjoy anything, stop being curious, start being exhausted all the time and also not very nice nor sociable. I know about it and I really try to avoid the “heavy hard way” as it is not doing any good.

I noticed some types of people are much better in keeping it fresh than others. I think if you are overly responsible or you try really hard to perform and analyze, then it can be more difficult for you. On the other hand if you are naturally outgoing and take things easy, you probably don’t even need to think about this topic.

My way of keeping on the positive side is to do as much as I can, but not dully follow guidelines. I like to think about different possibilities and meanings things offer. Be positive about people and presume they are as motivated to graduate as I am. Don’t push too much and don’t try to controll everything. Help, but don’t let yourself doing other peoples work before your own. Don’t stress yourself, don’t plan too much and don’t try to be perfect (have realistic objectives!)

and HAVE FUN! 

It is all like a game.

What is your way of keeping fresh?

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Keep it FRESH

  1. I know EXACTLY what you are talking about Eva! I’m feeling exactly the same! the thing to keep in mind to stay fresh is that its only one year long, and one year in a lifetime is absolutely nothing! 🙂

    Posted by elo2428 | October 28, 2011, 13:37
  2. Hi Eva, it sounds really true what you say about getting overwhelmed by thoughts that stress you out when you have high expectasions, especially from yourself!
    Being hyper critic with ourselves don’t get nowhere from my point of view but it’s even true that we all need that bit of adrenaline to get it right!
    “Keep it fresh” for me could means being in a state of mind, a mood that allows me not to torture myself when I fail or not feeling the pressure of failure. Is that what you meant?

    Posted by laurettaanselmi | October 28, 2011, 13:51
    • I ment that it seems you can do things two ways
      / the hard way which usually have bad results
      or
      / the fun way achieving even more than you thought of in the first place…

      So yea, it is kind of life strategy, don’t worry about things you can’t change and enjoy everything you are doing. Nothing is perfect and it is completely fine, just go with it…

      If you were at the entrepreneurial event yesterday that was basically what the first speaker talked about. One way leads to competing on price and the other one is inovating. But maybe this comparism is too abstract.

      Posted by Eva Petrakova | October 28, 2011, 16:24

Leave a Reply

